I always remove this data from my screenshots before sharing, but is there any way to prevent this from happening in the first place? I’ve searched and searched, but all I can find is information about how to remove the data after the fact, which I already know how to do, but it would sure be nice if it never got added in the first place. Thanks.

    • Android 14, and it’s Samsung so I know they add their own restrictions, etc., but I’m not sure what they all are. Nothing good lol

      I’m using Simple Camera, which I do plan to replace, but it doesn’t save exif data to the photos I take. It happens when I use the volume + power button combo to take screenshots.

      When I open any photo taken with my camera, I see no exif data at all.

        • lemmyingly ( lemmyingly@lemm.ee ) 
          link
          fedilink
          arrow-up
          1
          ·
          3 years ago

          The only meta data saved is the Android software version.

          My Samsung S21 screenshots show “Android UP1A.231005.007.G991BXXS9FXAK”

          Generally when you share media via social and messaging apps the meta data is stripped automatically. So for the most part everyone is perfectly fine even with regular media where you have things like geolocation meta data enabled.