From Lemmy documentation:

We don’t delete anything from our database, just hide it from users. Deleted or removed Communities/Posts/Comments have a “restore” button.

But don’t take my word for it. Try it out yourself. You can make a comment, delete the comment (your username appears to remain) and then restore its content.

  • Pigeon ( Lowbird@beehaw.org ) 
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    3
    ·
    3 years ago

    Reddit retains deleted user data, including after account deletion, and they absolutely sell it.

    I dislike the retention of deleted data here, but it looks like account deletion at least is total, so it’s better than what reddit does.