I always remove this data from my screenshots before sharing, but is there any way to prevent this from happening in the first place? I’ve searched and searched, but all I can find is information about how to remove the data after the fact, which I already know how to do, but it would sure be nice if it never got added in the first place. Thanks.

  • infeeeee ( infeeeee@lemm.ee ) 
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    20
    ·
    3 years ago

    There’s no rational reason

    https://xkcd.com/1172/

    I don’t share screenshot frequently, and I store them for a long time, in 10 years in the future this data can be useful, I won’t remember what phone and rom I had, so it can be useful for some people. I also store gps data in my photos’ exifs, but again I never share them on the public internet.

    But a button to switch it onoff would be useful, that’s true.

    • Yeah. In my opinion, it’s more of Samsung’s bullshit. There’s really no conceivable reason not to give users the option to avoid having metadata saved with their screenshots. It’s super annoying because I have to open it with a third-party app, strip the metadata, save the stripped image, then delete the original (which I rarely do, because it’s so time consuming already, so it’s taking up twice the amount of storage for me).

      I did find a third-party screenshot app that doesn’t save metadata, but it’s problematic in its own way, so I won’t use it.

      I’ll just keep stripping it manually. It’s a pita though, and I feel like there should be an easy solution. A lot of users in this thread say their phones don’t save metadata in their screenshots, but I’m unfortunate enough to have a Samsung.